A new website has been launched for Kritika Kultura at https://ajol.ateneo.edu/kk . This site will be archived on 31 May 2022.

: In Memoriam: Peter Horn (1934-2019)

Kritika Kultura mourns the passing of Peter Horn, member of the International Board of Editors (KK), Professor Emeritus and Honorary Lifetime Fellow (University of Cape Town, South Africa), and Honorary Professor and Research Associate in German Studies (University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa).

Professor Horn’s involvement in Kritika Kultura has been significant. Apart from helping orient the journal in terms of editorial policy—in his capacity as a member of the International Board—Professor Horn has published his poetry (issue no. 2); guest edited (with Anette Horn) a Forum Kritika on the South African Novel Since 1990 (issue no. 18); and contributed an article on J.M. Coetzee (issue no. 18). Moreover, in 1987, as a guest of the Department of English, Ateneo de Manila University, he delivered a lecture and read his poems before a university-wide audience. A poem about his Manila experience was published in Kritika Kultura no. 2.

Professor Horn has written extensively on Hölderlin, Paul Celan, Rainer Maria Rilke, and Heinrich von Kleist, among others; moreover, he has published numerous books of poetry and fiction. His awards and distinctions include the Pringle Prize (1974); Noma Award (Honorable Mention, 1992); Alex La Guma / Bessie Head Award (1993); Charles Herman Bosman Prize (2000); Caine Prize for African Literature (Finalist, 2000); and the Lifetime Achievement Literary Award in the 2010 South African Literary Awards (SALA).